About Me

Hello, My Name Is George Hulm.

Since the age of 13 I have been crafting Levels and Game Worlds within the various versions of the Unreal Engine. I started out developing maps for the Game Unreal Tournament 3, before moving on to Epic’s Unreal Development Kit. I have worked independently on the majority of my projects but over the last 2 or 3 years I have also been involved in several larger teams. Including with the highly professional Independent Game Developer; Dark Synergy Studios, who are responsible for  Wake Up Call.

I have a large amount of experience within the Unreal Engine, and have a firm grasp of its Material Editor, Unreal Cascade, Kismet, lightmass, level streaming and optimisationas well as all of the other necessary technical skills required to bring an idea to life. I also have an exceptional understanding of Level Design, Game Design and Visual Design theory; colour, lighting and composition. Alongside Unreal, I use Photoshop to create textures, as well as Crazybumpwhich really is a must have for all aspiring 3d artists out there. I am also just starting to get to grips with 3DS Max and asset production.

Essentially, what this all means is that I am able to take an entire level from my head, put it down on paper, and then bring it all the way to completion, and to a professional level of quality and polish.

I will work for commissions, and if you have a full or part time job you need filled, be sure to get in contact. I will also work for free or for royalties if a project interests me enough, or if I think I stand to learn a lot.

I can also offer 1-2 hour Lessons over skype on various aspects of Game and Level Design, they cost £10-£20 respectively, but if you or I feel that I did not do a good enough job, you will either not have to pay, or the lesson will be extended.

I think that is all you need to know apart from that fact that this site will also be used to showcase both digital and more traditional art alongside the level design.

Thanks for reading, I hope you enjoy looking around!

George Hulm

Leave a Reply

